The Carl-Gustav Groth Xeno Prize

xeno-prize large

Click here to submit your paper today!

We are pleased to announce the launch of the Carl-Gustav Groth Xeno Prize.

This prize of US $7, 000 is jointly funded by the International Xenotransplantation Association (IXA) and the publisher of Xenotransplantation (Wiley), will be awarded to the first author of the best paper published in the journal each calendar year. The IXA council has decided to name the Prize after the past-Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Carl-Gustav Groth, who initiated the idea of the prize and finalized the funding between IXA and the publisher. Dr. Groth was also the Founding President of IXA. In addition, he has immensely contributed to the field of xenotransplantation through pioneering research and clinical investigation. The IXA council and the editorial board members of the journal wish to express to him their deepest respect.

The judging of published articles will be carried out by a Prize Committee convened specifically for this purpose, composed by the President of IXA, the President-Elect, the Immediate Past-President, the Chief Editor, and 5 members of the IXA council. The Prize will be announced at the beginning of each year and presented at either the IXA or TTS Congress in the following year, and awardees will be encouraged to use the prize to support their attendance of the meeting. The Prize will be awarded to the first author of the best paper and if the first author is the supervisor, the award will go to the trainee that had major contributions to the experimental design and preparation including writing of the manuscript.

We will announce the winner for the year of 2012 in the next issue of the journal and the prize will be presented at the IXA congress in Osaka, November 10-13, 2013.

We hope this prize will entice young investigators to submit their best manuscripts to Xenotransplantation.

Bernhard J. Hering, President of IXA Leo Buhler, Editor-in-Chief

Our Corporate Sponsors

TTS gratefully acknowledges the Corporate Partners whose generous support makes the work of the Society possible:

  • astellas
  • roche
  • sanofi