Declaration of Istanbul Custodian Group

The Declaration of Istanbul Custodian Group’s (DICG) Board of Councillors has come to its annual transition-point. A third group of Councillors has completed its second three-year term and new members have now joined for a new term.

Six new Councillors have just been elected to serve from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018. This includes Somchai Eiam-Ong (Thailand) and John Gill (Canada), proposed by the International Society of Nephrology (ISN); Nancy Ascher (USA) and Haibo Wang (China), proposed by TTS; and Mirela Bušić (Croatia) and Riadh Fadhil (Qatar), proposed by the Nominating Committee.

At the end of 2015, six members left the Board including Alex Capron, Jeremy Chapman, Gabriel Danovitch (outgoing DICG Co-Chair), Vivek Jha, Adeera Levin and Faissal Shaheen. We look forward to their continuing involvement in the DICG as far as proposing people who are working to further the principles of the Declaration as potential DICG members, and their participation whenever the general membership of the DICG gathers.

In 2008, the ISN and TTS worked on preparing content for the Istanbul Declaration on Organ Trafficking and Transplant Tourism. Their efforts culminated in the Declaration being finalized at the International Summit in Istanbul, Turkey.

After a series of meetings, the TTS and ISN created a Declaration of Istanbul Custodian Group (DICG) to shepherd activities of the community including interactions with public and professional groups, governments and patients. A set of working groups was created to foster and track activities worldwide, so that demonstrable progress in the fight against transplant tourism and organ trafficking can be made.

Read more about the Declaration of Istanbul and the Custodian Group by visiting the website at