Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture

Paul E. Lacy, islet transplant pioneer

LacyA biennial award given to an outstanding clinician and/or scientist for their outstanding achievements in the field of islet transplantation.

About the award: Paul Lacy was a pioneer in experimental islet transplantation and demonstrated proof-of-concept in animal models thereby stimulating the development of successful protocols in human clinical islet transplantation. This biennial lecture delivered at the IPITA congresses commemorates his seminal contributions to the field. The Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture Award is given to a clinician and/or scientist who has made substantial and lasting contributions to the field of experimental and/or human islet transplantation furthering Dr. Lacy’s vision.

Every two years, between congresses, the IPITA Council accepts nominations for, and selects the Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture recipient.


2015: Konrad Federlin, JustusLiebig-University of Giessen, Giessen, Germany

2015: Guido Pozza, University of Milan, Milan, Italy

2013: Ali Naji, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA 

2011: Daniel Pipeleers, Diabetes Research Center, Brussels, Belgium

2009: Ray Rajotte, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada

2007: Clyde Barker, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA

2005: Camillo Ricordi, Diabetes Research Institute, University of Miami, Miami, FL, USA