History and Highlights

Founding members were interested in issues related to donation, procurement, preservation and transplantation and included Drs. Felix T. Rapaport (USA), Luis Toledo-Pereyra (USA), Raffaello Cortesini (Italy), G. Koostra (Netherlands), Oscar Salvatierra (USA), and Joseph Lloveras (Spain).

The first three conferences held were entitled the International Organ Procurement and Preservation Symposiums and started in 1987. Then a formal organization was created as the Society for Organ Sharing (SOS) in 1990 with the first official meeting in Rome. In 2003, the organization was formally incorporated as the International Society of Organ Donation and Procurement (ISODP) and then became an official section of The Transplantation Society (TTS) in 2004. The Congresses have been held every other year in numerous geographic regions of the world to highlight organ donation and transplantation with intent to share best practices and improve organ donation for that country. The Congress usually attracts approximately 500 to 700 participants.

Past Congresses

2017 14th Congress - ISODP Geneva, Switzerland Philppe Morel
2015 13th Congress - ISODP Seoul, Korea Jongwon Ha
2013 12th Congress - ISODP Sydney, Australia  
2011 11th Congress - ISODP Buenos Aires, Argentina C. Soratti
2009 10th Congress - ISODP Berlin, Germany G. Kirste
2007 9th Congress - ISODP Philadelphia, Pennsylvania H. Nathan
2005 8th Congress - ISODP Gramado (RS), Brazil V. Duro-Garcia, M. Abbud-Filho
2003 7th Congress - ISODP Warsau, Poland W. Rowinski
2001 6th Congress - ISODP Nagoya, Japan H. Takagi , H. Ameniya
1999 5th Congress - ISODP Maastricht, The Netherlands G. Koostra
1997 4th Congress - ISODP Washington, DC J. Light, C. Callendar
1995 3rd Congress - ISODP Paris, France J. Hors
1993 2nd Congress - ISODP Vancouver, BC P. Keown
1991 1st Congress - ISODP Rome, Italy R. Cortesini
1989 Organ Procurement Preservation Symposium Minneapolis, Minnesota J. Najarian
1987 Organ Procurement Preservation Symposium Barcelona, Spain J. Lloveras
1985 Organ Procurement Preservation Symposium Detroit, Michigan L. Toledo-Pereyra
1983 Organ Procurement Preservation Symposium Maastricht, The Netherlands