Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture

About the Award

A biennial award given to an outstanding clinician and/or scientist for their outstanding achievements in the field of islet transplantation.

Paul Lacy was a pioneer in experimental islet transplantation and demonstrated proof-of-concept in animal models thereby stimulating the development of successful protocols in human clinical islet transplantation. This biennial lecture delivered at the IPITA congresses commemorates his seminal contributions to the field. The Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture Award is given to a clinician and/or scientist who has made substantial and lasting contributions to the field of experimental and/or human islet transplantation furthering Dr. Lacy’s vision.

Every two years, between congresses, the IPITA Council accepts nominations for, and selects the Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture recipient.

Paul E. Lacy
Islet Transplant Pioneer
Past Recipients
  • 2023

    Bernhard J. Hering - University of Minnesota, USA
  • 2021

    A.M. James Shapiro - University of Alberta, Canada
  • 2019

    Antonio Secchi - Ospedale San Raffaele, Milan, Italy
  • 2017

    Garth L. Warnock - Ike Barber Human Islet Transplant Laboratory, Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • 2015

    Konrad Federlin - JustusLiebig-University of Giessen, Giessen, Germany
  • 2015

    Guido Pozza - University of Milan, Milan, Italy
  • 2013

    Ali Naji - University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • 2011

    Daniel Pipeleers - Diabetes Research Center, Brussels, Belgium
  • 2009

    Ray Rajotte - Diabetes Research Center, Brussels, Belgium
  • 2007

    Clyde Barker - University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • 2005

    Camillo Ricordi - Diabetes Research Institute, University of Miami, Miami, FL, USA



Staff Directory
+1-514-874-1717 x216


International Pancreas & Islet Transplant Association
c/o The Transplantation Society
740 Notre-Dame Ouest
Suite 1245
Montréal, QC, H3C 3X6