Extended Deadline: July 7, 2023 at 11:59PM EDT


The International Society of Vascularized Composite Allotransplantation is requesting nominations for our upcoming Council election. Nominations are being sought for 4 Councilors to commence following the 2023 ISVCA Congress in Los Angeles, California later this year. Details to come.

Councilor Position
To be eligible for nomination as a Councilor, a person must be an ISVCA member in good standing (with paid dues) for at least 4 consecutive years prior to such nomination. ISVCA members who fulfill the above criteria can submit self-nominations or be nominated by an active/full member in good standing for open Officer or Councilor positions. The nomination should also include a short summary outlining the nominee’s interest in the position and what they will bring to the position, along with a curriculum vitae and the nominee’s written acceptance to stand for election.

To be eligible for election, all candidates must be a Full Member of the ISVCA in good standing at the time of their nomination and during their term of office and complete a Conflict of Interest form.

Councilors shall serve on committees of the Council and shall perform such duties as may be delegated to them by the President.

Dr. Curtis Cetrulo

President, ISVCA
Harvard Medical School,
United States

Latest News

15th ISVCA Congress in Cancun, Mexico, a Big Success!

The 15th Congress of the International Society for Vascularized Composite Allotransplantation (ISVCA) was successfully held in Cancun, Mexico (June 4-6, 2022). The theme of the meeting was “Miracle and Magic of VCA.”

More than 400 participants from 21 countries participated in the Congress, of which the scientific program of the main congress spanned two days of sessions. These highlighted world updates in VCA, including successful outcomes and complications as well as progress in experimental research and innovative advances with clinical impact. Special breakout sessions included those on psychosocial aspects, economics, bioethical dilemmas and policy considerations in the field.

Abstracts were submitted from various VCA centers across the world, including promising clinical studies, experimental work on transplant immunology, and novel strategies for immunomodulation and graft surveillance. Seven (7) abstracts were selected for the prestigious TTS Abstract Travel Awards.

TTS Abstract Travel Award Winners:
Claudio Francisco Reyes Montero
Isabel Arenas Hoyos
Ibrahim Natalwala
Arimelek Córtes Hernández
Aldo Giovanni Beltrán Pardo
Aileen X Escobar Hernández
Juan Pablo Reyes González
Read More

Dr. Vijay Gorantla, ISVCA President 2019-2021, and Dr. Martin Iglesias from Mexico, served as the Congress Chairs. The 15th Biennial Meeting heralded the term of the incoming President, Dr. Curtis Cetrulo; President Elect, Dr. Hatem Amer; and welcomed four new ISVCA Councilors: Dr. Jelena Janjic, Dr. Fatih Zor, Dr. Jean Kanitakis and Dr. Henk Giele. The ISVCA Congress was co-located at the same venue with the World Society of Reconstructive Microsurgery; this allowed ample opportunities for interaction between ISVCA delegates and WSRM faculty and attendees from other specialties.

The Congress also showcased groundbreaking advances and concepts involving the interface of emerging fields such as regenerative medicine, tissue engineering and nanomedicine and their relevance to the future of VCA. Topics addressed innovation in drug delivery, organ engineering, newer avenues of research in immunomodulation, and development of tolerance. Highlights of the meeting included the Dubernard Memorial lecture by ISVCA Past-President, Dr. Emmanuel Morelon; a special lecture on xenotransplantation by Dr. Robert Montgomery; and, a VCA policy overview by OPTN-UNOS President, Dr. Matthew Cooper.

We look forward to the 16th Biennial Congress (location to be determined) of the ISVCA and welcome attendance from all our colleagues across interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary fields.

Officers 2022-2023

Curtis Cetrulo

President (2021-2023)

Hatem Amer

President-Elect (2022-2023)

Vijay S. Gorantla

Past President (2022-2023)

Patrik Lassus

Treasurer (2019-2023)

Councilors 2022-2023

Henk Giele

United Kingdom (2022-2025)

Subramania Iyer

India (2019-2023)

Jelena Janjic

United States (2022-2025)

Jean Kanitakis

France (2022-2025)

Fatih Zor

United States (2022-2025)

Ronald M. Zuker

Canada (2022-2025)

The Transplant Infectious Disease Section (TID) has prepared a new update and guidance on the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCov) for transplant ID clinicians.


Staff Directory
+1-514-874-1717 , X : 210


International Society of Vascularized Composite Allotransplantation
International Headquarters
740 Notre-Dame Ouest
Suite 1245
Montréal, QC, H3C 3X6