The International Basic Science Mentee/Mentor Travel Awards


1st Joint TTS/CST Basic Science Networking Event.
From left to right: Anita Chong,
Stefan G. Tullius, Gerhard Opelz

The Basic Science Committee (BSC) of The Transplantation Society (TTS) has been reconstituted in 2010 and charged with representing basic research in TTS. Anita Chong and Stefan G. Tullius as co-chairs of the BSC together with 10 international representatives of the Basic Science Committee from all TTS regions have established the International TTS Basic Science Mentee/Mentor Awards. These awards recognize the special relationship between the basic science mentor and their mentees, and their efforts in advancing our understanding of the science of transplantation. A total of 27 applications from Asia/Australia (5), Europe (9), North America (12) and South America (1) were selected to receive these awards based on scientific excellence and selection for oral presentation at the XXIII TTS Congress. These awards were presented by Drs. Jeremy Chapman, President of TTS and the President elect, Gerhard Opelz during the lively and well-attended 1st TTS/CST Basic Science Networking and Awards Event.

In their address, Anita Chong and Stefan G. Tullius welcomed the active participation of all researchers in transplantation and associate fields for all future events and meetings of TTS and invited them to the Basic Science Symposium of TTS and ESOT which will be held in Cape Cod from June 11th-14th, 2011.