TTS-IRTA Upcoming Webinar Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 11:00AM EST

Updates in pediatric intestinal failure and transplant: Educational strategies and neurodevelopmental assessment

Speakers: Mary Gallotto, Colleen Nespor and Stephanie So
Moderator: Beverly Kosmach-Park

Click here for more details and to signup

Welcome to Intestinal Rehabilitation and Transplant Association

Dear colleagues,

In accordance with the IRTA bylaws, we are requesting nominations for the biennial election. Nominations are sought for President-Elect (to serve 2019-2021 followed by President from 2021- 2023), The Secretary-Treasurer (to serve from 2019-2023) and for 2 councilors (to serve from 2019-2023). We encourage nominations from underrepresented regions such as Asia, Oceania and Latin America.

To be eligible for election, the candidate must be a Full Member in good standing of the IRTA at the time of their nomination and during their term of office.

A person shall be nominated if his/her name is submitted with a written signature or email of support from at least 2 voting Members in good standing, along with a five-line summary (100 words) of the nominee’s curriculum vitae and the nominee’s acceptance to stand for election.

Nominations can be completed online by using your member login and clicking here. Nominations must be submitted no later than December 16, 2018.

SUBMIT A NOMINATION (You must be logged into the website)

Elections will take place in January, 2019.


Gabriel E. Gondolesi
IRTA Secretary-Treasurer

cirta2019 banner

irta leuven

Request for international collaboration in a Multicenter retro-and prospective observational cohort study on "GENETIC MUTATIONS IN INTESTINAL TRANSPLANTATION (GEM-IT)" - supported by the IRTA



Update from the IRTA President

mazariegos georgeDear colleagues,

I want to update you briefly on important developments in the IRTA. First, the scientific committee led by Rob Venick, MD, has been successful in getting the new and improved Intestinal Transplant Registry transitioned and operational. Thank you to the more than 40 centers that have already entered new or updated past data. For medical centers who have data to input or update, the drive to complete center data entry is on. We are extending the end of data submission to Monday December 4, 2017 to allow analysis and preparation of an update for our community through a webinar in January 2018. The registry web link can be found here.

Also, Dr. Yaron Avitzur and colleagues have formed a working group to add intestinal failure data into our registry and to develop a plan for a pilot study. Stay tuned for additional details as they become available.

If you have not already done so, please renew your membership in the IRTA today. Joining the IRTA will give you access to the newly revitalized transplant and intestinal failure registry now housed at the Terasaki Foundation, as well as help connect you with our community and our committees that will benefit from your participation. You can apply to become a member of the IRTA here. If you are currently an IRTA member, and interested in engaging on one of our committees, you can apply here. I especially want to encourage you to help engage our younger colleagues in both medicine and surgery to become members and get involved in the work of the various committees.

Finally, planning is beginning for the CIRTA in Paris in July 3-6, 2019. Save the date for what will be a memorable key next step in the evolution of this Association. Stay tuned for our next IRTA eblast to announce the webinar and for other new initiatives starting in 2018. On behalf of the IRTA Council (pictured below), may the end of 2017 and your holiday season be a time to reflect on the great privilege we have to care for patients in the field of intestinal failure and transplantation and become energized for the work ahead in 2018.

With appreciation,

George Mazariegos, MD
IRTA President

IRTA Council Meeting at CIRTA 2017

2017-2019 IRTA Council

PRESIDENT George V. Mazariegos, MD, FACS
COUNCILORS Yaron Avitzur, MD
Geoffery Bond
Laurens Ceulmans, MD, PhD.
Jonathan Hind
Mihai Oltean, MD, PhD.
Robert Venick, MD